You can now take the ICAO aeronautical English exam at Panamedia, a pilot school based in Valencia and Palma de Mallorca

English level requirements in Aviation

In March 2003, ICAO amended the 1st Annex of the Chicago Convention to add the requirement to be examined in the use of the language in which they make their transmissions in radiotelephone communications to all aeronautical personnel; airplane and helicopter pilots, navigators, flight mechanics, and air traffic controllers.

The new requirements came into force on March 5, 2008, and are mandatory for anyone who requires an issue of their license. Those who do not have a Level 4, 5 or 6 of English language competence, in a scale that a rating goes from 1 to 6, will not be able to fly outside their native country. Including PPL-licensed pilots operating outside of controlled airspace, and excluding pilots with national PPL licenses.

prepare your English exam and take the exam at Panamedia

When should ICAO Aviation English level be renewed?

Level 4 (Operational), minimum level, must be renewed at least once every three years and level 5 (Extended) at least once every six years. If you get level 6 it is not necessary to renew it.

The ICAO Aviation English Evaluation

ICAO establishes that candidates are evaluated in six aspects of their linguistic competence:

  • Pronunciation
  • Grammar structure
  • Vocabulary
  • Fluency
  • Understanding
  • Interactions

Once the test is carried out, which you can take at the Panamedia facilities, the examinee will be able to write down on their license the level of English language competence he has obtained.

English aviation course

Panamedia offers you the Online Aviation English Course which objective is for the student to acquire detailed knowledge to speak, read, write and understand up to the maximum level (6).

Find out about the Online Aviation English Course>

Latest From Blog

Follow on Instagram

Cannot call API for app 380204239234502 on behalf of user 10218157085544262